May 27, 2022


Santa Maria History

Best Scholars for 2021 named | FIU News

President Mark B. Rosenberg and Provost Kenneth G. Furton honored the 2021 Top Students with a virtual ceremony last thirty day period. The group comprised 30 college customers who produced exceptional work in parts together with instructing and engagement, award-winning inventive operate and sizeable grants.

“We want to thank you from the base of our hearts for symbolizing those who price the lifestyle of the brain. And we want to urge you to proceed what you’re accomplishing simply because you are excelling,” Rosenberg explained.

The Top rated Scholars are ordinarily taken care of to an in-man or woman ceremony at the Ronald W. Reagan Presidential Dwelling, in which they obtain pins honoring their achievements. This year’s function was virtual simply because of the coronavirus pandemic.

At the beginning of the ceremony, Furton said he hopes following year’s ceremony can be in man or woman. He also expressed his deep gratitude to the faculty.

“Your efforts and that of your colleagues have assisted the university obtain unparalleled ranges of results in conditions of our popularity and our rankings,” Furton explained. “We just had our rankings arrive out for graduate plans in U.S. Information and Entire world Report. We moved up from nine packages to now 15 courses in the Top 50.”

Vice President for Faculty Management and Achievements Kathleen Wilson hosted the party and gave each individual faculty member time to introduce on their own to the team. School were being also invited to present questions, responses and worries regarding how FIU can assist its faculty even superior.

Scientists and academics who attended represented the unique faculties from throughout the college. For new increasing stars like Clinton Jenkins, a professor in the Department of Earth and Atmosphere, it was a possibility to satisfy a lot more of his colleagues.

“I’m relatively new to FIU, so I’m really fired up to be right here,” he stated.

Jenkins also pointed out that a lot of of his global co-authors for his award-winning publication have been continue to struggling appreciably with the COVID-19 pandemic.

“Hopefully they will do perfectly and we can all get back to producing the science and training we all really like to do,” Jenkins reported.

Other college honored at the ceremony included those people who went earlier mentioned and beyond to have interaction students above the past yr.

Associate Teaching Professor Tovah Bender was honored for her get the job done to stimulate link involving students and their professors and peer tutors as a result of a crafting of record program. At a time when humanities classes across the place were battling with enrollment, FIU’s Office of History quantities did not drop a little bit, she mentioned.

“One of the factors I bear in mind studying early on in my time listed here was 1 of the major indicators of university student accomplishment was whether or not or not you make a friend in your initial semester,” Bender claimed.

Here is the full listing of Prime Students for 2021.

Shekhar Bhansali – Faculty of Engineering & Computing

Martha Pelaez – School of Arts, Sciences & Instruction

Denise Duhamel – School of Arts, Sciences & Schooling

Hilary Landorf – School of Arts, Sciences & Instruction

Clinton Jenkins – College of Arts, Sciences & Instruction

Rebecca Friedman – Steven J. Environmentally friendly School of Worldwide & Community Affairs

Jose M. Eirin-Lopez – Faculty of Arts, Sciences & Education

Hebin Li – Higher education of Arts, Sciences & Education and learning

Arindam Gan Chowdhury – University of Engineering & Computing

Richard Olson – Steven J. Environmentally friendly Faculty of Worldwide & General public Affairs

Carolin Lusby – College of Hospitality & Tourism Administration

Zachary Danziger – University of Engineering & Computing

Trudy Gaillard – Nicole Wertheim University of Nursing & Wellbeing Sciences

Monique Ross – Faculty of Engineering & Computing

Cyra Choudhury – College of Regulation

Giri Narasimhan – College of Engineering and Computing

Cheryl Holder – Herbert Wertheim College of Drugs

Henry Rueda Coronel – School of Interaction, Architecture + The Arts

Iqbal Akhtar – Steven J. Inexperienced College of Worldwide & Public Affairs

Manuel Gomez – University of Regulation

Jorge Camilo Mora – Herbert Wertheim College of Medicine

Tovah Bender – Steven J. Eco-friendly School of Global & Community Affairs

Anthony Miyazaki – Faculty of Business enterprise

Uma Swamy – College or university of Arts, Sciences & Education and learning

Lisa Cain – College of Hospitality & Tourism Administration

Terrence Peterson – Steven J. Inexperienced University of Worldwide & Public Affairs

Camila Granados Cifuentes – School of Arts, Sciences & Education and learning

Charity Watson – Faculty of Arts, Sciences & Schooling

Selcuk Uluagac – Higher education of Engineering & Computing

Jeremiah Hower – College of Arts, Sciences & Instruction