August 10, 2022


Santa Maria History

Recognition Exactly where It is Because of | November | 2020 | Newsroom

Several Lecturers School school members have acquired sizeable honors in recent months. They are:

Melanie Brewster, Associate Professor of Counseling Psychology and Co-Founder of TC’s Sexuality, Females, & Gender Challenge, been given the 2020 Fritz & Linn Kuder Early Occupation Award for Distinguished Scientific Contributions to Counseling Psychology. Specified by Division 17 of the American Psychological Association, the award honors fantastic contributions to the science and apply of counseling psychology by an early occupation psychologist.

Brewster is Director of Scientific Training for TC’s Counseling Psychology Ph.D. plan. She also directs identityLORE (Laboratory for Oppression, Resilience, and Empowerment), which conducts investigation on minority worry concept, or how societal structures and attitudes condition identity improvement and psychological overall health for members of marginalized groups.

In 2014, Brewster posted Atheists in The usa (Columbia College Push), a selection of additional than two dozen narratives by atheists from distinct backgrounds throughout the United States. 

Sonya Douglass Horsford, Associate Professor of Education and learning Management, received the 2020 Critics’ Selection Reserve Award of the American Educational Studies Affiliation for The Politics of Education Plan in an Era of Inequality: Options Toward Democratic Schooling (co-authored with Janelle T. Scott and Gary L. Anderson).

Horsford’s do the job focuses on racial inequality in K-12 educational facilities and how race is conceptualized and comprehended by leaders for fairness and social justice in the United States. She is the Founding Director of TC’s Black Training Investigate Collective and Co-Director of the College’s City Education and learning Leaders System.

Her former textbooks incorporate Intersectional Identities and Educational Management of Black Girls in the United states (Abingdon: Routledge 2014) and Discovering in a Burning Home: Educational Inequality, Ideology, and (Dis)integration (Teachers School Push), which obtained the 2013 Critics’ Option Award from the American Instructional Research Association. 

Jeffrey Henig, Professor of Political Science & Training, received the 2020 Dennis Judd Greatest Book Award for Outside the house Money in School Board Elections: The Nationalization of Education Politics (Harvard Schooling Push 2019), alongside with his co-authors, Rebecca Jacobsen (Ph.D. ’07) and Sarah Reckhow, the two of Michigan State University. The award, for the greatest book posted in city politics, is supplied by the City Politics Segment of the American Political Science Association.

Henig’s analysis focuses on the boundary concerning non-public motion and community action in addressing social issues. Amongst his several guides are In between Public and Non-public: Politics, Governance, and the New Portfolio Versions for Urban College Reform, co-edited with Katrina E. Bulkley and TC Professor Emeritus Henry M. Levin (Harvard Training Press 2010), which received the 2012 Districts in Study and Reform SIG Best E book Award, and Spin Cycle: How Research Is Utilised in Policy Debates, The Circumstance of Constitution Faculties (Russell Sage Foundation/The Century Basis 2008), which been given the American Educational Investigation Association’s 2010 Remarkable E-book Award.

Associate Professor of Practice Amra Sabic El-Rayess’s memoir, The Cat I By no means NamedA Genuine Story of Really like, War, and Survival (Bloomsbury, 2020), was named a Junior Library Guild Gold Common Range for 2020. The Cat I Under no circumstances Named has acquired 6 starred testimonials (reserved for publications of remarkable high-quality) from Foreword Evaluations, Kirkus Assessments, Faculty Library Link, University Library Journal, Booklist and Publishers Weekly.

Sabic-El-Rayess, who teaches in TC’s Department of Schooling Plan & Social Evaluation, is an interdisciplinary scholar who leverages fields of economics, sociology and political science to address the questions of radicalization, discrimination, Islamophobia, social mobility, corruption, social transformations and exclusion of ladies.

Sabic-El-Rayess is Venture Director of TC’s Centre for Reward-Cost Scientific tests in Instruction and Affiliated Faculty at Columbia University’s Harriman Institute for Russian, Eurasian and Jap European Studies. 

Laura Smith, Professor of Psychology & Instruction, was elected to Fellow status in the American Psychological Association by the APA Council of Representatives.

Smith’s work focuses on social inclusion/exclusion and emotional wellbeing, social class and poverty, anti-racism and Whiteness, and participatory motion study.

Smith is the writer of Psychology, Poverty, and the Stop of Social Exclusion: Putting our Practice to Operate (Academics College or university Push 2010) and Counseling the Culturally Diverse: Idea and Practice (Wiley 2019), co-authored with TC psychologist Derald Wing Sue, David Sue and Helen A. Neville.